A Systematic Failure of the Beats by Dr. Dre

It has come to pass that I’ve managed to find my first complaint about these miraculous headphones. Usually it goes that I first listen to a band in my car and then decide whether or not it’s worth it to take it deeper on the Dre’s.

“Taking it deeper” basically means that I’ll hear everything the way it’s supposed to be heard. A low, low bass line some light fluttering notes will reveal themselves and add or detract from the experience altogether.

Since I’ve been listening to The Beatles on the Dre’s from the start, everything has been laid bare the first time around. I got all the information I was going to get on the first listen. I was frustrated at the sluggishness with which I came to enjoy listening to The Beatles. I was treating as more of a chore, listening so hard I forgot to sit back and enjoy myself.

Once I pinpointed this egregious systematic failure, I was able to pull myself back and relax a bit. In time, Rubber Soul and Revolver revealed themselves to me as they should have on the Dre’s; Rubber Soul tricking me into thinking it was Revolver and Revolver…well, that’s another post. Until then!

3 responses to “A Systematic Failure of the Beats by Dr. Dre

    • With how well they block outside noise, it’s definitely easier to hear lighter notes, more so than a car or earbuds. Also, as far as beats being trash, I’ve had suspicions about whether or not there’s better out there. I’ve talked to a lot of audio professionals about them and their preferences and they pretty much agree they’re at the top of the list as far as quality headphones go. So are they the best out there? No, but they’re definitely not trash and for $200 it’s pretty reasonable.

Leave a Reply

